Interior Design & Project Coordination

Claudia Giselle Design Blog

Studio updates.

Feng Shui 101: Understanding the Art and Science of Luck and Harmony for Interior Design

Happy Chinese New Year!

Happy Chinese New Year!

It’s Chinese New Year today and in case you don’t know, it’s the year of the Earth Pig.

A new year means a new start for most people and who doesn’t want some form of improvement in 2019? Obviously, everyone wants well-being in their careers, finances, health, home and family life. If you are among those who are in search for ways to achieve a kind of balance, harmony and abundance, you probably have heard about Feng Shui.

What is Feng Shui?

Feng Shui is the ancient Chinese art of empowering you to improve the different aspects of your life such as your health, wealth, relationships, and careers, among others. There are some who would argue that there is a science to Feng Shui. Needless to say, Feng Shui has been around for thousands of years and it is not surprising that it has seeped into the different cultures of people around the world.

However, despite being around for thousands of years, it is still subject to misinterpretation. For instance, there are those who are hoping to have lifelong love partnerships and count on Feng Shui to increase their love luck. In order to properly approach Feng Shui, it is necessary to have a healthy understanding of the Chinese culture, the principles and the science behind it.

The Five Elements of Feng Shui

A modern version of the “Earlier Heaven” or "Fu Xi" bagua (伏羲八卦) that is used to determine auspicious spatial relationships.

A modern version of the “Earlier Heaven” or "Fu Xi" bagua (伏羲八卦) that is used to determine auspicious spatial relationships.

There are five elements of Feng Shui: wood, earth, fire, metal, and water. Each of these elements is represented by a specific color commonly associated with the elements. These are incorporated into home and office interior designs, or through accessories worn by individuals to increase their fortune and harmony.

Here are the common colors of the elements:

·       Wood – green

·       Earth – brown

·       Fire – red

·       Metal – white

·       Water – blue

Although the elements are represented by colors, it is also important to consider how they compliment each other. Through these interactions or ways of relating with each other, fortune is said to improve. The interactions are divided into cycles which are categorized as productive and destructive.

The productive cycle connotes that the elements support each other. Take, for instance, wood supports fire elements, fire elements support earth elements, earth elements support metal elements, metal elements support water elements, and water elements support wood elements. This cycle of creation is essential and is productive.

A family room designed by Claudia Giselle Design.

A family room designed by Claudia Giselle Design.

By contrast, the destructive cycle is when elements break each other down. Take the situation of how wood weakens earth elements, earth elements weaken water elements, water elements weaken or destroy fire elements, fire weakens or melts metal elements, and metal elements weaken or cuts wood elements. The destructive cycle is believed to have an adverse effect on the person’s chi.

Knowing how each of the five elements of Feng Shui can enhance or weaken each other is the key to successfully incorporating these techniques into your home interior designs, office layouts, or even in choosing your accessories.